Early Years Foundation Stage

As a registered childminder, it is a legal requirement that I follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework. This covers the stage of children's development from birth to the end of their first (Reception) year in school.

The principles which guide the work of all early years practitioners are grouped into four themes:

A Unique Child – every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationship – children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments – the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Learning and Development – children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.”

“The Unique Child reaches out to relate to people and things through the Characteristics of Effective Learning, which move through all areas of learning:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically"

Prime areas of Learning and Development:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  2. Physical Development (PD)
  3. Communication and Language (CL)

Specific areas of Learning and Development:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Arts and Design


Montessori Approach - Please click here to download my Montessori Approach Document

Mrs Honey Childminding Service is committed to provide an excellent care and education to children  to learn through play. 

You are visitor number:

web analytics

Site content © Copyright Mrs. Honey Childminding | Site building and hosting by Childminders Websites

Privacy Policy